About the Foundation

Named after Arnold J.Toynbee, the Toynbee Prize Foundation was chartered in 1987 “to contribute to the development of the social sciences, as defined from a broad historical view of human society and of human and social problems.” The Foundation seeks to promote scholarly engagement with global history through several activities.

Foremost among these is the Toynbee Prize, an award granted every other year to recognize outstanding work in global history. As an affiliated society of the American Historical Association, the Foundation sponsors one session at the Association’s annual meeting. In the years in which the Prize is awarded, the recipient presents a lecture. In alternate years, the Foundation sponsors a session on global history.

The Foundation, based in Massachusetts, is tax exempt under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.


Current Trustees:

Former Officers and Trustees:

  • Charles Bright, University of Michigan
  • Nayan Chanda, Yale University
  • John Headley, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Marshall Goldman, Harvard University
  • Richard M. Hunt, Harvard University
  • Akira Iriye, Harvard University
  • Mark Juergensmeyer, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Philip S. Khoury, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Bruce Mazlish, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Barbara Metcalf, University of California, Davis
  • Karl E. Meyer, Independent Scholar
  • Timothy Nunan, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Wolf Schafer, State University of New York at Stony Brook
  • Harriet Ritvo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Strobe Talbott, The Brookings Institution